William E. Spicer - Thomas N. Casselman Award

Best Student Paper

Every year the U.S. Workshop on the Physics and Chemistry of II-VI Materials (a.k.a. the II-VI Workshop) Committee selects one of the student presentations to receive an award for the best student paper. Prior to 2004, this award was called simply the "Best Student Paper Award." Its goal is to encourage student participation and acknowledge excellence in student paper presentations. The award commemorates William E. Spicer’s and Thomas N. Casselman’s memory and is awarded to the student who, in their opinion, had the best student paper at the Workshop. The recipients are presented with a cash award and a plaque. The plaque will have the student’s name and institution engraved upon it and will be his or hers to keep.

Following the passing of Professor William E. Spicer of Stanford University on June 6, 2004, the II-VI Workshop Committee decided to honor Bill Spicer and recognize his role as a co-founder of this workshop as well as his many contributions to the world of science by renaming the "Best Student Paper Award" as the "William E. Spicer Award." Bill is best known as one of the inventors of modern night vision devices. He developed photoemission spectroscopy and pioneered image-intensification technology.

After the passing of Thomas N. Casselman on August 30, 2010, the Workshop Committee changed the name of this award to the "William E. Spicer - Thomas N. Casselman Award" to recognize Tom’s role as the other co-founder of this workshop and to honor the contributions of Tom Casselman and Bill Spicer. Tom Casselman was a computational solid state physicist, who made important contributions to the fundamental understanding of the physics and chemistry of HgCdTe materials and devices.

William E. Spicer (1929-2004) and Thomas N. Casselman (1933-2010) cofounded the U.S. Workshop on the Physics and Chemistry of the II-VI Materials in 1981. With the help of their peers from industry, government and academia, the co-founders organized the first workshop in Minneapolis, Minnesota, held on October 28-30, 1981. Since 1981, the U.S. Workshop on the Physics and Chemistry of the II-VI Materials has taken place annually and has attracted both US and foreign attendees from industry, government agencies and academia. The workshop proceedings are rigorously peer-reviewed. The proceedings of the workshops from 1981-1991 have been published in special issues of Journal of Vacuum Science and Technology. The proceedings of the workshops since 1992 are published in special issues of the Journal of Electronic Materials (JEM).

The recipients of this award are now working in various government agencies, industrial laboratories and academic institutions. The list below gives the recipients of this distinguished award from 2004 until present day.

YearRecipientInstitutionAdvisorPresentation Title

Ségolene Dinand

Université de Toulouse, France    Dark Current Evolution in Irradiated MWIR HgCdTe Photodiodes


Prathmesh Deshmukh

Sivananthan Laboratories, Bolingbrook, IL, USA    Metasurface-coupled HgCdTe Avalanche Photodiodes: A Modeling Study


Matthew Ackerman

University of Chicago Philippe Guyot-Sionnest

HgTe Colloidal Quantum Dot Short-and-Mid-Wave Infrared Photodiodes


Adrien Yèche

 CEA-LETI    Development of Cross Section Electron Beam Induced Current Characterization of HgCdTe Based Photodiodes


Boston University Enrico Bellotti Numerical Modeling of Three-Dimensional Microlenses for IR Focal-Plane Arrays
2016 Elizabeth LeBlanc Texas State University Tom Meyers Controlling the Magnesium Composition in CdTe/CdMgTe Heterostructures.
2015 Alexander E. Brown University of Illinois at Chicago, Chicago, IL. Sivalingam Sivananthan Bulk and Surface Carrier Transport of III-V Materials and Superlattice Structures
2014 Sneha Banerjee Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute, Troy, NY Ishwara Bhat Low Temperature Deposition of Cadmium Telluride for Surface Passivation
2013 Clement Lobre CEA-Léti, Minatec Philippe Ballet Microstructure Characterization of p-Type Doping in HgCdTe
2012 Alexandre Gaucher CEA-Léti, Minatec Johan Rothman Characterization of Plasma Etching Process Damages in HgCdTe
2011 Anne M. Itsuno University of Michigan Jamie D. Phillips MBE Grown Single Element HgCdTe nBn Infrared Detectors
2010 Stuart Farrell George Mason University Rao V. Mulpuri Effect of Cycle Annealing Parameters on Dislocation Density Reduction for HgCdTe on Si
2009 Michele Moresco Boston University Enrico Bellotti Full-Band Monte Carlo Simulation of HgCdTe APDs
2008 Sophie Derrelle ONERA/DOTA/CIO Jerome Primot Experimental Performances and Monte Carlo Modelling of LWIR HgCdTe Avalanche Photodiodes
2007 Gwladys Perrais CEA -LETI-Minatec\DOPT Gilbert Vincent HgCdTe Avalanche Photodiodes Response Time Depending on Gain and Temperature
2006 Lianfeng Fu University of California at Davis Nigel Browning The Effect of Annealing on the Morphology and Interfacial Diffusion of HgTe/CdTe Superlattices Studied by STEM
2005 Min Yung Lee Korea Advanced Institution of Science and Technology (KAIST) Hee Chul Lee A Comparison of Gamma Radiation Effects on Bromine and Hydrazine Treated HgCdTe Photodiodes
2004 Chad Fulk University of Illinois at Chicago Sivalingam Sivananthan Arsenic Deposition as a Precursor Layer on Silicon (211) and (311) surfaces


  1. "The William E. Spicer - Thomas N. Casselman Award for Best Student Paper," Marion B. Reine, Journal of Electronic Materials, 2011, Volume 40, Number 8, Pages 1615-1617
  2. "Foreword and the History of the US Workshop on the Physics and Chemistry of HgCdTe (Now the II-VI Workshop)," S. Sivananthan, N. K. Dhar, Y. Anter and T. N. Casselman, Journal of Electronic Materials, 2010, Volume 39, Number 7, Pages 831-836
  3. "Spicer Award Foreword," Thomas N. Casselman, Journal of Electronic Materials, 2005, Volume 34, Number 6, Page 682
2024 II-VI Workshop Abstract Due Date May 20
2024 II-VI Workshop  Accept/Reject Notification Jun 14
2024 II-VI Workshop Late-News Abstract Deadline June 21
2024 II-VI Workshop Extended Abstract Deadline July 26
2024 Hotel Reservation Deadline Aug 28
2024 II-VI Workshop Adv. Registration Deadline Sep 9
JEM Paper Submission Deadline Oct 30 - Nov 29
2024 II-VI Workshop Sep 30 - Oct 3


  • Nibir Dhar
    Virginia Commonwealth University
  • Daniel D. Lofgreen
  Workshop Committee
  • Palisades Convention Management
    411 Lafayette Street, Suite 201
    New York, NY 10003
  • Paola Caicedo
    Special Issue Coordinator
    Sivananthan Laboratories, Inc.
    590 Territorial Drive, Unit H
    Bolingbrook, IL 60440


Please contact

Danielle Rocco